European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

The EBRD was established in 1991 to help countries with command economies to move towards free and open market economies.

The EBRD has its Headquarters in London, over 40 local offices, and a capital base of €30 billion and a AAA rating.

The Bank invests in financial institutions, energy including renewables, infrastructure, industry, trade, agribusiness and other sectors, and mobilises significant foreign direct investment into its countries of operations, working with companies from Western Europe, North America, India, South Korea, Japan and many others. It also works in cooperation with other international institutions such as the IMF, ADB, the World Bank and EIB, and now also AIIB.

The EBRD operates in 37 countries from central Europe to central Asia and southern and eastern Mediterranean and has over 40 local offices.

The EBRD is owned by 68 countries from five continents, including China, and two intergovernmental institutions (the European Union and the European Investment Bank)

Visit the web page